Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Diagnosing hesitation (Ford Five Hundred)

Diagnosing hesitation (Ford Five Hundred)

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Diagnosing hesitation (Ford Five Hundred)

• Creator
    Topic
    Bernie DucksworthDavid
    Participant

Misc BS
      Hello all

This is my first post here, and I am hoping it will be far from the last.

I am just starting out in engine maintenance (from an IT service background so diagnostic technique is no alien concept to me), so please excuse my personal hesitation to chime in very much until this post.

I have a few niggles with my Ford Five Hundred but this one is one I want to figure out before the coming Canadian winter makes it soul destroying to both diagnose or to just put up with on the roads.

The Problem
      2005 Ford Five Hundred 3.0L Limited. 200’000 kilometres (124’000 miles)

Hesitation from a standstill. Lean code P0174. Still looking for underlying cause even while it seems to have gone.

Quick History
      A month ago I started having severe shaking/hesitation when trying to move from a stationary position. I would have to put the gas pedal back up then softly feather it down to get the car moving without having the engine shake all it’s bolts loose. Other than moving from a stand-still, the engine does not hesitate or vibrate or react in any way.

I also started getting P0174 – Lean code.

As is the way, both the hesitation and the lean code were intermittent.

What I Tried So Far
      Some quick Googling/YouTubing told me that the fuel filter could be holding up the fuel flow, and I don’t remember it ever being changed in the vehicle’s 4 year history that I am aware of, so I figured I would do that first. I took it off, it was rusty as hell and looked like it was long overdue. I tried blowing through it and nothing. No air flow whatsoever.