Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • 02' Lincoln LS 3.9L – Violent Coolant Bubbling

02' Lincoln LS 3.9L – Violent Coolant Bubbling

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here 02' Lincoln LS 3.9L – Violent Coolant Bubbling

Tagged: 

• Creator
    Topic
    Kenneth MikolaichikKenneth Mikolaichik
    Participant

2002 Lincoln LS 3.9L V8 Coolant Bubbling Issue

Hello all,
      I have been driving this car for about 5 years and have just come upon an issue that is making me think I will have to sell it. I love this car and would like to figure it out. I am ASE certified and am an aircraft mechanic with Naval training. I am no stranger to engines and mechanics.

Ok, so this issue started as I was driving from California to Texas. Before I went on this drive I replaced the hydraulic fan and associated hose along with the alternator because it had leaked all over it. I also replaced the entire suspension system (uppers, lowers, sway bar links, tie rod ends, springs, shocks, everything), the brake pads, calipers, and tires.

I made it down the California coast of about 300 miles when the vehicle started running hot, the gauge sat just above the middle line on the temperature gauge. I turned on the heater and continued driving all the way to Arizona. When I stopped for gas in Arizona coolant began violently bubbling in the reservoir tank and dumped approximately a gallon of coolant onto the ground.

I immediately thought that the thermostat was in a ‘stuck closed’ condition. I removed the thermostats inners with side cutters leaving only the metal ring and attached rubber gasket and reassembled the vehicle while topping off the coolant. I did not follow the bleed procedure at this point. I made it only about 2 miles down the road and the vehicle over heated heavily (I didn’t let it go into the red, it overheated quickly). After that I did not drive the vehicle for about 2 weeks and towed it the rest of the way to Texas.