Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Automotive Technician Habits/Skills and How old is to old to be an Auto Tech

Automotive Technician Habits/Skills and How old is to old to be an Auto Tech

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge ETCG Suggestion Box Automotive Technician Habits/Skills and How old is to old to be an Auto Tech

• Creator
    Topic
    Eric PaniaguaEric Paniagua
    Participant

Hi Eric,
      I’ve been working on Hondas for just about 5 years. I started at a dealership as an apprentice for about 2 years, I then quit to work at a small independent shop were we only work on Acuras and Hondas. I love working at the independent shop but I’m starting to think I need to go back to the dealer to go where the money is at, I am currently getting paid by the hour and not book time. It’s been a very difficult journey for me as a tech, I was never really good with my hands or fixing stuff. I’ve made so many mistakes and at times I might of made the same mistakes more than once. I have made significant progress up until now and there were many times I thought about quitting but I find a lot of value in fixing cars or taking something apart and putting back together and I have learned that the way you approach cars doesn’t just become your job, it becomes a way of life.
      I wouldn’t consider myself a Honda Master Tech but I definitely want to head towards that direction. When I was at the dealer, I worked on the newer Hondas and in the Independent shop I work a lot on the older Hondas which has given me the kind of exposure to help me become a better technician/mechanic.
      I’d like to request if you can make a video on the top Habits and Skills of a Master Tech. I feel like sometimes it’s not just about the knowledge and skills, all though though that’s a huge percentage of it, but I feel like it’s also the smaller details that might also set apart the men from the boys.