Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Do professional mechanics consult online forums?

Do professional mechanics consult online forums?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge General Discussion Do professional mechanics consult online forums?

• Creator
    Topic
    SpencerSpencer
    Participant

I’d love to hear the opinion of some current or former technicians if there are any on here.

I’m always curious how much technicians/ mechanics are active on car forums. Do you guys ever consult online communities or forums with your customers repairs? And if not, why not?

So…I have a 2001 Jeep GC. I have no professional experience in auto repair. Everything I know is from watching youtube videos like ETCG, and forums. Over the years I’ve fixed many problems myself, and a few times I’ve had to seek professional help on jobs that are above my capability. One thing that always surprises me though, is that I’m frequently more aware of known issues and the idiosyncrasies of my vehicle model than the person I’m paying to diagnose and repair it. Maybe this is unfair, as mechanics can’t possibly know everything about every vehicle that comes in. But on the other hand, why not? It doesn’t take that long to do a google search right? Is this a fair critique?

Some examples: