Menu

Driveshaft Support Bearing advice

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Driveshaft Support Bearing advice

• Creator
    Topic
    TimTim
    Participant

Hey guys, I am new to the forum so I would like to introduce myself first. I am a 33yo audio equipment tech. In my spare time I am an amateur amp designer who also likes to play guitar and study music, oh and also have been known to turn some wrenches in my time 🙂 I am also known to frequent some of the more popular audio forums on the web, and now I can participate in this automotive forum, hooray for the interwebs.

So I have repaired my share of vehicles in my time and usually never break anything :whistle: Well my girlfriend has a 05′ Ford Escape AWD and was in need of new driveshaft support bearing……..I figured no problem couple of hours and I should be done. 24 hours prior to the repair I sprayed the hanger bearing nuts etc…… with PB Blaster every few hours. Well I am sure you can guess what happend next, with very little effort the stud/bolt snapped when trying to loosen the nuts. I tried the other one and it snapped like a twig also. Mind you I am not that big of a guy (120lbs), not very strong, and have chronic back issues (this morning was painful), when I say I barely turned the nut and it snapped I mean I barely turned the nut. If something feels or lookis troublesome I usually use heat but this gave me no warning. Anyway the past is in the past and I can’t change anything. My first plan of attack is to see what is above the studs before I go and start drilling and tapping. I also figured since I have been reading this forum from time to time it was a good way to become a member and get involved.

Any advice is welcome, thanks.

[url=http://imgur.com/amGZj02]
      [url=http://imgur.com/wSb67gV]
      [url=http://imgur.com/fy1SRuD]

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      James O'HaraJames O’Hara
      Participant