Menu

Heat only when accelerating.

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Heat only when accelerating.

• Creator
    Topic
    sidosido
    Participant

Hi guys, i am having a problem with WJ jeep 1999 4.7

The car is heating only when i am accelerating.
      If the car is standing still on the parking lot, heater blows cold air.
      If i am revving the engine from 1000 to 2000 and back, or accelerating the heater starts working.
      When driving, heating works-ish.

I checked the water pump. It looks normal, nothing broken or weird about it.
      Flushed the heater core, about 4 times. I’ve also changed coolant. Every time I do this, I also bleed the system to get air out. Every time i flush it, heating works little bit better. After few days starts getting worse.

Is there anything else to check????
      When I bought the car 8 months ago I had a leak, so I’ve used stop-leak product.
      Which was a mistake, but I am new to this car repairing.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      college mancollege man

Does the vehicle come up to operating temp?
        Sounds like air is still trapped. usually when
        you rev the engine and heat starts to be felt
        and goes cold when at idle. Air is still trapped.

http://www.ericthecarguy.com/faq/what-to-do-when-your-engine-overheats#SolvingCoolingSystemProblems

george gonzalezgeorge gonzalez
        Participant

Find the highest spot in the cooling system, and bleed air out from there. Bubbles always go to the top, so you have to let the air out there, OR you have to rev the engine way up so the air gets pushed along to the radiator or overflow fill.