Menu

Honda Civic Questionable Alternator

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Honda Civic Questionable Alternator

• Creator
    Topic
    Daniel DaraDaniel
    Participant

Hi All,

I apologize for the long post but I figured more information is better. I have a small amount of DIY experience with my car but I’m no mechanic. I’ll say this ahead of time, thank you SO much if you have the time to read this post and offer me any advice.

The TL;DR
      – Car idles at battery voltage (12.42V)
      – But voltage is steady at 14.4V under load or just with headlights on
      – Not sure if low idle means alternator is bad

The Problem:
      I have a few reasons to believe my alternator is bad, but after extensive research and testing, I’m not sure enough to spend $200 on a new alternator. I’m hoping someone can offer peace of mind as to whether I should replace it, or let it be.

The Car:
      2012 Honda Civic LX (US)
      1.8L / Automatic / Sedan
      I bought it from a Carmax with ~23k miles, currently has ~50k
      Done my own maintenance, so far mostly oil changes / tire rotation, once replaced all brake pads and replaced brake fluid

Background:
      I’ve had no real problems with this car, except I’ve been a dunce and left the interior light on, draining the battery and requiring a jump… a total of 3 times in the last year. Just a few days ago I did it again and while the jump went fine, the car didn’t start on it’s own the next time I used it. I figured I finally killed my battery, so I got another jump and drove to Autozone. They did a battery test and confirmed it was done. They also did an alternator test (same tool) and said the alternator was bad as well. This last bit of news surprised me since I was only expecting a bad battery. There was an Oreilly next door so I had them do the same tests and they had the same results. They also did a starter test and said that at least that was good (great).