Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Honda D13B idling issues. (Civic EK2 / City 1.3)

Honda D13B idling issues. (Civic EK2 / City 1.3)

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Honda D13B idling issues. (Civic EK2 / City 1.3)

• Creator
    Topic
    Sudhir DamerlaSudhir Damerla
    Participant

Good afternoon Gentlemen,

I have a few Idling issues on my City 1.3L(2001) which I believe is the EK2 Civic in America. I have had this car for a few years now and was previously owned by an elderly person who has never abused it. It read 1,50,000KM /94,000Miles on the ODO. The car is reliable and has been my daily drive. But off late I have been noticing that the car has been idling very low and hates the AC being turned on at crawling speeds. The engine also drops idles when headlights and switched on or any other electrical load is applied. Now I have limited technical knowledge when it comes to working on cars. Im more of a two stroke /carburettor motorcycle guy, but Im sure with the right guidance I can solve this problem.

THE SYMPTOMS:

Car starts at half a crank and idles beautifully till the engine warms up and then stays at 700RPM. Turn the AC and the headlights on and it drops to 600 or sometimes stays at 700. There is also a good deal of vibration at this speed which almost feels like a 3 cyl cabin sound. Disappears when I hold throttle at 800-900RMP. Once on the move car pulls good till about 2000RPM and then takes off like a rocket at about 2k to 2.5k RPM.
      I had the car looked at the Honda Showroom where they changed the mounts and did the mandatory 100,000KM. Also got a bunch of other stuff including the water pump, belts and driveshaft boot etc which cost a whooping 1000$ +.