Menu

Openions on getting back into it.

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only Openions on getting back into it.

• Creator
    Topic
    JoshuaJoshua
    Participant

Hey everyone! New to the fourms here. I just finished completing all my ASE certifications and now hold masters. I came here to see what y’all guys thought about getting back into the field. I’m 27 years old and love working in the shop. I have had two years experience right out of college working for Mitsubishi dealer. I was 20 back then and didn’t know what I was getting into. I was only turning 20 hrs max a week at $19hr flat rate. With that said I got out and went work in the oil field where the money was easy. I regret getting out of it and have a passion for this an becoming a great tech. All I hear is horror stories and every tech I talk to telling me I’m nuts for trying to get back in it. Give me your opinions. Also trying to get on a Chevrolet/Cadillac dealer in my town and wanting advice on what should I expect just getting back in it and what would be a good starting flat rate pay for someone being ASE master. I know dealers looking for tech’s that are factory trained these days. Advice anyone? Thanks!

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      dreamer2355dreamer2355
      Participant

The field is probably the same now as it was when you left.

Some of the big manufacturers don’t look at ASE certs anymore as they prefer to train there own techs.

I would recommend a good independent repair facility to work at rather than the dealer. That way you wont get ‘stuck’ doing warranty work all the time.

SpawnedXSpawnedX
        Participant

I want to be positive for you, I want to tell you to do what you love, because I do love working on cars.