Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Pop from rear when when accelerating from stop

Pop from rear when when accelerating from stop

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Pop from rear when when accelerating from stop

• Creator
    Topic
    Elijah WatsonElijah Watson
    Participant

My girlfriends car, a 2002 Pontiac Sunfire (173k, 2.2 ecotec, 4spd auto..) has developed a problem, which I’m assuming lies within the rear brakes. Occasionally, when you come to a stop and then go to accelerate, you’ll hear (and to a certain extent, feel) a loud pop noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. I can’t hear nor feel which side it’s coming from, nor can I provide any information as to when it happens, as my girlfriend doesn’t pay enough attention and when I drive it it seems entirely random. I’m far from an expert when it comes to those pain in the ass drum breaks, but the brakes seem to have plenty of pad to them, and the drums, while as rusty as expected, looked pretty okay too. I’m unsure when the last time the rear breaks were serviced (if ever, I’ve seen rear pads last a long time!) and being in that I’m far from an expert as far as rear brakes go, I figured I’d ask around and see where you guys think I should start.