Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Repaired engine exhibiting the same symptoms after the repair

Repaired engine exhibiting the same symptoms after the repair

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Repaired engine exhibiting the same symptoms after the repair

• Creator
    Topic
    Indi SinghIndi Singh
    Participant

So, hello everyone, I’m new here! I’m in the UK so I expect there will be a delay communication between us!
      Right, so an into to me and what’s going on. I’m a self employed mechanic, just like Eric, yay! I’ve been at it for about 8 years and have done numerous repairs and builds, solving issues along the way.
      This one has be puzzled and I’m just looking for similar experiences with maybe a common solution that might be relevant to this problem.

I have a Mercedes v8 engine (sl500, 1996) twin ohc on each bank so 32valve. The car came to me as a non runner, and I diagnosed a slipped timing chain due to a broken chain guide. Timed her up, new top guides fitted, leakdown pressure tested her, then compression tester her, and everything seemed ok. Started first time, and ran nice and smooth. But she smoked white smoke and drank coolant. After checking the oil, it was plain to see the coolant was getting into the pan somehow so…..We removed the cylinder heads to find both headgaskets failed and rusted to bits.
      Both heads were sent to the machine shop (a trusted tried and tested shop) and the heads were given 1 pass each on the skim. All pressure tested ok. Block was visually inspected on the deck and cleaned up. The bores and pistons were visually checked, and we left oil inside each bore to see if they leaked down – they didn’t. Long story short, everything was re-assemble using genuine mercedes parts (including replacing every chain guide, new chain, new valve stem seals, head gaskets, intake manifold gaskets, exhaust gaskets, cylinder head bolts, new sump gaskets -the works)