Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • SOLVED: Escape No Crank/ No Start + stuck in park

SOLVED: Escape No Crank/ No Start + stuck in park

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here SOLVED: Escape No Crank/ No Start + stuck in park

• Creator
    Topic
    BernzBernz
    Participant

I stumbled across Eric’s awesome videos which led me here. I’m a complete noob when it comes to this stuff so bare with me.

My 2002 Ford Escape V6 has been running smoothly and suddenly decided not to start this morning. I tried to jump start the truck, but it still would not crank. This led me to think Escape’s battery was likely not the problem. I tried all three keys and still no joy. I even tried wiggling and pushing the key to see if there was a loose connection in the ignition switch.

When I turn the key to the start/ON position, I get the normal dashboard lights, etc. The THEFT light goes out after 3 seconds, as expected, to show the vehicle’s anti-theft system has be disarmed.

Headlights are bright and don’t dim when turning the key to the ON position. There’s no real audible click except for the faint one the starter relay makes. While the key sits in the RUN position, there’s a faint buzz which appears to be coming from the radiator fan area.

The battery reads 12.47V; I checked the terminals for corrosion, loose cables, etc. and it’s all good. I swapped a relay with the starter relay to make sure the starter relay isn’t the issue.

I can’t shift out of Park either. It won’t budge. Holding the brake pedal down, turning the key to the ON position, will not allow me to bring it out of Park. When I let the e-brake down, the truck advanced at least a foot, and would have kept going; considering it is in Park, the truck should have stopped.

Perhaps this points to a busted shift cable? But, before I look any further, I’d like to ask if someone here has experienced something like this and how it was resolved.