Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Speed Bleeders – good idea? bad idea?

Speed Bleeders – good idea? bad idea?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Tool Talk Speed Bleeders – good idea? bad idea?

• Creator
    Topic
    Mike scubacat3Mike
    Participant

Does anyone have experience with Speed Bleeders? They’re basically a bleeder screw with a check valve to make solo bleeding super easy. I don’t see any major harm because even if this valve were to break, it wouldn’t leak unless the screw were cracked open like a regular bleeder screw.

I’m just curious if anyone has experience in terms of whether or not they work well, are worth the extra few bucks, etc.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      college mancollege man

I have no experience with a speed bleeder.Let us know
        if they work out.

John B KobberstadJohn B Kobberstad
        Participant

My son bought some for his 1995 Camaro. I told him he was wasting money he didn’t have, but he seemed to like them I guess. He probably wouldn’t tell me otherwise because he’d get the “I told you so” from me. I’ll ask him tonight and post his serious reply.

John B KobberstadJohn B Kobberstad
          Participant

He says they work well, but you must go easy when you tighten them as they will break easily. He broke one in his caliper and had to get a new caliper. For what it’s worth.

Mike scubacat3Mike
            Participant

I’m going to order a set for the next time I do brakes (probably this spring). I’m surprised that more people don’t use them or that they’re not standard equipment….. it seems like such a simple solution to a problem. Why would you ever want brake fluid going back the other way??

Thanks for the info. I’d love to hear some other experiences on them.

Phil GrimseyPhil Grimsey
              Participant