Menu

Why I Got Out

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only Why I Got Out

• Creator
    Topic
    Gary BrownGary
    Participant

Hey guys, it feels like an eternity since I’ve been on here, never mind posted. I’ve been going through some big life changes, including the huge one that this post is going to be about.

Before I was an automotive tech, although I always had a love of cars, I had a love of computers as well. I was always of the belief that these two entities should be kept separate however as the old cars were always my true passion for their purity and style. I worked full time as a computer repair bench technician at about 11 dollars an hour in my late teens. No college degree and no certifications, only self-taught experience. All the while I worked there, I was working on my own vehicles and wanted to turn my hobby into a career just as I did with the computers.
      I had romanticized about the idea of working more with my hands, watching all the old 50s,60s,70s based TV shows and movies making the trade look appealing. Typically the mechanics would be working with purely mechanical and hydraulic systems in stylish classic American cars. This ignited my interest into a roaring flame.

So I went to a great, expensive technical college where I live for automotive to get some credentials.
      I graduated top of my class with an associate’s degree in auto tech along with multiple certifications.
      Upon graduation, I got my first job in the field a GM dealership. I was ecstatic. I was started at 10 dollars