Menu

YouTube Certified Mechanics

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge ETCG1 Video Discussions YouTube Certified Mechanics

• Creator
    Topic
    EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
    Keymaster

I’ve been doing videos under the EricTheCarGuy name for 7 years now, ETCG1 for 6, and I’ve seen this over and over again. I know that YouTube videos can be empowering, but there really is no substitute for real life experience.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      JustinJustin
      Participant

Agreed. There are many even with incorrect information also. There is no replacement for experience for sure Eric!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

zerozero
        Participant

I think a lot of it has to do with how an individual presents the information to another. Do they state it as a possibility or a definite. “You have X problem and I’ve read that your make and model is prone to X part failing”. As opposed to: “X part always fails in that application, just replace it.”

The first response give someone an idea of where to start because let’s face it, especially with common models pattern failures are easy to spot and eliminating that common source of failure is an easy way to eliminate one cause. Case and point, when I put crappy gas in my car it was throwing a p0303 code randomly. Switched the plugs coils around and still the same random code. A few weeks ago as the temperature approached -40 I started getting it consistently under certain conditions. So I just replaced the injector. Didn’t check anything electrical, just threw the part at it basically. But I did it with the knowledge that it is the most likely source and full knowing that there could be another issue still.