Menu

engine backfire on startup

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here engine backfire on startup

• Creator
    Topic
    Aaron HamminghAaron Hammingh
    Participant

I have a ’94 Ranger standard cab 2.3L 5 speed about 137K miles, and here’s what I’ve done on it in the last week. I changed the spark plugs and fuel filter, took it for a drive and drove great, no unusual noises and seemed to be driving better than before. 2 days ago I cleaned the MAF sensor, let it air dry then reinstalled. I didn’t test drive right then but waited a few hours. When I was going to, immediately upon starting the engine it backfires, then smoke from under the hood, I think from the driver side. The engine ran for only a few seconds before I shut it off. Not sure exactly what happened as I’m rather new to DIY maintenance on vehicles, aside from trying to visually see any defects, I haven’t done anything since then. I’d really like some advice as to what it could be and how I can fix this. I’m borrowing a relative’s car and they tend to get pissy when I have it, even though I don’t drive a lot when it’s not mine. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Cody BeaudetCody Beaudet
      Participant

You didn’t break the MAF sensor did you…? :unsure: What did you clean it with, and how? Are there any codes? MAF sensor tells the computer amount of air entering the engine (as you probably know), so as to allow it to calculate the correct air/fuel ratio. If that’s all whacked out, it may be allowing a ton of fuel to enter the engine, some of which isn’t being ignited in the combustion chamber and is igniting in the exhaust system. The smoke under the hood sounds weird, don’t quite have an answer for that.

Participant