Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • HELP! Honda J-Type Engine: Timing belt replacement

HELP! Honda J-Type Engine: Timing belt replacement

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here HELP! Honda J-Type Engine: Timing belt replacement

• Creator
    Topic
    JackJack
    Participant

I’m a noob doing my very first timing belt change on my 2007 Honda Ridgeline. (Eric’s videos are what gave me the confidence I could do this myself.)

I’ve already replaced the water pump, the idler pulley, the tensioner pulley and the hydraulic tensioner back on. I am ready to put the timing belt back on and I think I have screwed something up.

Specifically, I think the back side of the engine is out of sync with the crank and the front side. I’m not sure how this could have happened, as I have been very careful to follow directions step-by-step, but the timing marks on the back side cam pulley (closest to the firewall) are at about 2:00 whereas the timing mark (cylinder 1) on the front side cam pulley and the crank pulley are both at 12:00.

I don’t know if it happened or how it happened, but based on Eric’s video, it seems to me that it should not be that way.

I have 2 questions:

1. Can someone review the attached photos and confirm whether or not the front and rear cams are in fact out of sync?
      2. If I am, can I rotate the rear cam separately to get it back in sync with the front cam and the crank?

I have attached two photos, the first of the front cam pulley, the second of the rear. The photo of the rear cam pulley shows what is – I believe – the timing mark pointing at 2:00.

I cannot figure out HOW I got it out of sync, if in fact I did. But it seems to me that if I DID get it moved out of sync, I should be able to get it back.

I’m stuck and think it would wise to NOT proceed without answers to the these questions. Thanks.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
      Keymaster