Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • 2004 Ford Explorer Rear Wheel Bearing Replacement

2004 Ford Explorer Rear Wheel Bearing Replacement

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge The EricTheCarGuy Video Forum 2004 Ford Explorer Rear Wheel Bearing Replacement

• Creator
    Topic
    EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
    Keymaster

*Sponsored Video* @AdvanceAuto

I’ve been doing wheel bearings for a bit over 20 years now. By far, this was one of the worst. Thing is, you guys seem to really like it when I struggle. You’re funny that way.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Nicholas ClarkNicholas Clark
      Participant

I’m just glad you stuck to it, Eric. That’s why I like this video. Makes me think twice about doing my own wheel bearings.

David KeleshianDavid Keleshian
        Participant

I would’ve gave up about five minutes into that 20 ton press. How much would it cost to replace that whole knuckle?

Ryan MarvinRyan Marvin
          Participant

Yeah that was a brutal. Glad you were able to get it though. Nothing more frustrating than almost getting there, and then something goes catastrophically wrong (such as that knuckle cracking). As always, nice work!

AKGCAKGC
            Participant

Should have removed the shoes and the debris from it, and then test drove it.

Could have been where the bearing noise was actually coming from.

Gareth RandallGareth Randall
              Participant

Good video. Always like to see how the pros deal with really sticky problems, and it nearly always comes down to the Big Red Wrench 🙂

Was anybody else backing away from the screen as Eric cranked the press harder?

One serious question: using the air hammer to break the driveshaft free of the knuckle. Is there any way by doing that – or using a hub puller or similar – that you could push the shaft back far enough to damage something inside the diff?

AKGCAKGC
                Participant

Using force is common practice in freeing a half shaft.