Menu

oil change: drain vs vacuum

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge General Discussion oil change: drain vs vacuum

• Creator
    Topic
    TroyTroy
    Participant

What are your opinions, pro’s and con’s?

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      MasonMason
      Participant

Without getting too caught up in the details, I prefer draining. My first and foremost reason is that I’m a home mechanic who can’t afford to buy specialty tools to do things I can do by simpler and cheaper means (oil extractor, various impact guns, brake piston compressors). Even though the average oil extractor setup is only about $50-$80, purchases like that build up over time, for me at least.

Secondly, I find that it doesn’t exactly save much time. Granted, it takes a period of time to jack up the car and get under and crack the drain plug versus simply popping a hose through the top of the engine, but it takes warm oil about as much time to drain out as it does to pump the oil out, at least in my experience. In terms of cleanliness, that’s a different story. You’re definitely more prone to spillages and dripping when draining than you are when using a pump.

Finally, I will ultimately favor the dirtier, more hands-on method over the clean and easy way. I think we can all agree that while using a C-clamp and an old brake pad to compress a caliper is more trouble than simply breaking out your piston compressor and screwing it down, you feel a greater sense of fulfillment when you finish. Same goes for oil changes. It’s much more satisfying to crawl under a car and drain your oil with a wrench and a pan than it is to do so with a tank a plastic hose and a bike pump handle, even if it is as basic a job as this.