Menu

07 scion tc clutch pedal

• Creator
    Topic
    michaelmichael
    Participant

So I recently purchased an 07 Scion TC with 100k miles, manual tranny, no rust or weird noises. This problem I’ve been having has been getting on my nerves being that I’ve been a mechanic for a few years now and can’t figure it out. The clutch is sticking but not as if the master cylinder is failing or it’s losing hydraulic pressure. It’s getting stuck after the clutch fully disinguages (roughly an inch and a half away from the start position). There is no correlation in the temp of the vehicle and the sticking. It does happen more often when the vehicle is running though. It’s random but is happening more and more often. I looked at a diagram of the clutch pedal layout for my tC and it looks as though there is a spring that possibly pulls the pedal up the rest of the way maybe after the hydraulics have disinguaged the clutch. Am I correct on that? Maybe the spring is faulty? However that wouldn’t explain why it is spuratic I wouldn’t think. I thought about a pedal adjustment but I don’t want to bandage the problem I want to fix it. Any insight on this would be greatly appreciated. It’s hard to see in the video but you can hear it pop when it releases.https://youtu.be/167ThmOYnLg

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      college mancollege man

If the spring is intact I would suggest that the clutch master is getting stuck internally.
        I would replace the master and slave.

http://www.ericthecarguy.com/faq/solving-transmission-problems

michaelmichael
        Participant

My apologies for bringing back an old thread but it already had the information on it.

This next paragraph is background info for symptoms skip to bottom.