Menu

2002 CRV misfire codes

• Creator
    Topic
    Hondafreak2003Hondafreak2003
    Participant

I have a 2002 Honda CRV with 94,000 miles. Check engine light is on with codes P300-304. So far I have had the valves adjusted and spark plugs replaced after Honda ran a diagnosis. Check engine light stayed off for 200 miles then reappeared. I checked the new plugs and they have carbon build up on them. Any suggestions of where to look next? Vacuum leak? Clogged EGR? I’ve also heard that a weak battery would cause misfires? Please let me know where I should look next. Thanks!

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Participant

No paperwork yet. Car is throwing P300, 301, 302, 303, 304 and a rich condition code. Dealer did compression test and all is well there. Also did a cylinder leak test, not sure what that is (seems like compression to me but im no mechanic), and determined that cylinder 1 is leaking 35% so that is why they are focusing on that cylinder. They took off the valve cover and checked everything on the top half of the engine. All checked out. Spark plug on cylinder on also has major carbon build up even though it has less than 250 miles on it. Dealer thinks that the leak in cylinder 1 is causing it to run lean, so the car is compensating by making the fuel/air ratio too rich. They believe that that is why the other three cylinders are misfiring. By switching the injector to cylinder 4, they want to see if the rapid carbon build up switches to that plug. If so then the injector is malfunctioning. I’m thinking that they are out of ideas. Valves are good, no vacuum leaks, no clogged EGR or PCV, no cam damage from bad valve job that was done one this vehicle,

college mancollege man

heres a video that Eric made on how to do a power balance test. this will help in your diagnostic. C8-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAOmUjAj … plpp_video

dreamer2355dreamer2355
          Participant

Welcome to the forums!