Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • 2004 wrx not sure whats wrong, transmission noise

2004 wrx not sure whats wrong, transmission noise

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here 2004 wrx not sure whats wrong, transmission noise

• Creator
    Topic
    Abdulwahab BastakiAbdulwahab Bastaki
    Participant

( sorry for long post , was trying to provide as much information as possible)
      hello , i have been following ETCG for a while , mostly watch ETCG1’s videos. its my first time posting here and have a question about a problem im facing with my subaru

car info ; 2004 subaru impreza wrx sedan with a jdm motor swap in it(ej205) , manual transmission. have around 40-50k on the swap and around 125k on the body , transmission was not changed during swap.

the issue that im having is that i hear a weird noise when i left of the gas while cruising, as soon as i apply a tiny bit of pressure on the gas pedal the sound goes away , but if i have zero pressure on the gas pedal there is a weird noise. with the noise i can feel vibrations on the stick ,
      https://youtu.be/reOhKxnr08o – if you listen closely to when i let off you should be able to hear it befor i go back on the gas ( wasnt an open road and was trying to do my best with getting the noise and staying safe and driving right )
      that is going in normal speed , normal rpm and everything , the issue doesn’t occur only when im off the gas pedal.

other than that the transmission shifts properly and everything is fine , sometimes it doesn’t slot into reverse properly and have to retry , and 5th gear sometimes feels locked out , ( i have never driven stick befor this car)

i took it to a shop and the mechanic test drove it , and said the throw out barring need to be replaced …

reasons for concern: