Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • 6th gen Accord, losing lots of oil, not sure where

6th gen Accord, losing lots of oil, not sure where

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here 6th gen Accord, losing lots of oil, not sure where

• Creator
    Topic
    JoeJoe
    Participant

2001 Honda Accord, 4 cylinder. I have to add oil regularly and I’ve been tracking this for a few years. I’m losing about 40oz per 1k miles. It seems to me that this is a LOT of oil, but I have no idea where it’s going. I’ve placed cardboard under the car a few times after driving it, and no drips.

So I figured it’s got be burning off, but to burn off that amount of oil would mean poor compression, correct? And poor compression would mean poor power and poor gas mileage, correct? Power seems good for a 4 cylinder Honda, and mileage is good. I get ~25mpg combined, and in the low 30s highway. Most recent long roadtrip, I got 34mpg (no air conditioning). I also don’t see blue smoke or smell burning oil. Would this kind of gas mileage rule out poor compression, or should I do a compression test?

As for leaks, one place where I noticed oil was on top of the transmission housing. This might be why I wasn’t seeing drips onto the floor – it was just falling off while the car was moving. That oil seemed to be coming from the distributor O-ring, which I replaced recently and oil is no longer leaking from there, but the oil loss continues.

Valve cover gasket seems ok and I don’t see obvious oil leak signs there (though I need to check the rear of the valve cover gasket a bit better).

I suppose a UV dye test is in order, but given the symptoms I’ve described (good power and fuel mileage, no drips when parked, large amount of oil loss, no blue smoke, replaced dissy O-ring), and that this is a 6th gen Accord, what/where is the most likely culprit here?

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      DavidDavid
      Participant