Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • ’88 Accord; Hesitation, no power low to mid RPM

’88 Accord; Hesitation, no power low to mid RPM

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here ’88 Accord; Hesitation, no power low to mid RPM

• Creator
    Topic
    Chris OrlandoChris Orlando
    Participant

Since this is my first post (Been following ECTG for a long time on youtube) I’ll introduce myself in a few words.

I primarily work and tune European auto’s. Its my second job/hobby. I work as an aircraft mechanic for the Coast Guard. Its inevitable that I get requests for other imports for coworkers/friends and that sometimes puts me out of my comfort zone. This particular Honda, more so than most. The bane of my existence; late 80’s to 90’s feedback carburetors…

This 88 Accord has a hesitation right off the throttle. The rpm sags and then seems to accelerate. It also has NO useable power on light to mid throttle or in the lower RPM range. It runs smoothly, no surging, bucking or misfiring. Just no power and that slight stumble right at throttle application. If you push it to have the auto tranny downshift and you get in around 3,000 RPM, it will move reasonably well and pull smoothly and steadily to 5,000 RPM.

This problem he said has been going on for about 6-8 years. Has gotten no better or worse with time.

What the owner has said has been done:
      Reman carb.
      Fuel filter
      Tune-up
      He said one mechanic advanced the cam timing!? He said this has been reverted back to stock settings.:blink: I haven’t checked yet.
      Some other things I can’t recall now. Some of these things were done 2-4 years ago with no improvement to the problem.

He’s had it to a list of various mechanics. Some of them doing shady work and didn’t help the problem. Now I suppose I’m up to bat…:sick:

What I’ve done:
      Traced every vacuum line and confirmed it with the under-hood chart.
      *The distributor vacuum hoses were crossed