Menu

99 Civic Ex Overheating Gremlins

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here 99 Civic Ex Overheating Gremlins

• Creator
    Topic
    Ryan EppersonRyan Epperson
    Participant

Hello!

I have been chasing this overheating issue on and off since July 2015. I’ve been taking the car to the local Mechanic as i don’t have time or the expertise/tools to handle anything too crazy, but they have reached a point where they are stumped themselves and since all the work is warrantied i’d prefer not to go to someone else and pay 500 for them just to say that it’ll cost 1000 to fix. All other maintenance has been properly up-kept for the last 6 years. They are a national brand and all of the work that they have done on our family cars has been great. This is the only issue i’ve ever had.

To get you started –
      Since July i’ve had the following replaced.
      – Radiator
      – Radiator Cap
      – Fan Switch
      – Electric Fan
      – Thermostat
      – Coolant Temp Sensor
      – Car has been flushed multiple times
      – Pressure test proved that old radiator was bad and has since been replaced.
      – A lot of these parts were replaced multiple times by the shop for fear of a bad part.

Current issue –
      Car will drive fine for 10 miles without overheating issues
      The next day you can drive it 5 miles and the gauge will climb up to 3/4 or even higher. I’ll turn on the Heater to try and help cool the engine down but it won’t help at all. I have actually had a multiple times where it seems to make the engine get even hotter.
      Side note – When i start the car i can usually get hot air within 10 minutes of driving. Lately It’ll take much longer to get hot air and when the engine returns to idle at a stop sign the hot air will gradually cool down without me changing the knob.