Menu

auto tech and diesel tech?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only auto tech and diesel tech?

• Creator
    Topic
    Rick
    Participant

Can you be a auto tech and a diesel tech? Dealerships here in Ohio hire auto techs and send them to dealership training to be diesel techs because they are in such demand.

The pay starts at $35 hr flat rate

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      James O’Hara
      Participant

Problem is why bean auto/diesel tech for that when you can start as a big rig tech at 18/hr hourly?

Rick
        Participant

That’s a pretty solid idea. I’m going to look into that.

Nick Warner
          Participant

I’m a diesel tech, and one nice advantage is that you can get into fleets and not deal with the day to day issues of customers or flat rate shops.

One nice thing of doing the lighter duty diesels is you are going to be in high demand. There are a lot of these out there and they get used hard. People who buy them are using them for work trucks and have the money to pay to fix them more often that your average time waster with a junk car does.

Getting good with Powerstrokes, Duramax or Cummins will make you a go-to guy and one that is a great bargaining position when you look to move on. The shop you are at will be more willing to offer you more to keep you, and other shops will be willing to pay up to get you there. You would be investing a bit more on the tool truck for certain tools that either you have to have or at least the ones that save skin on your hands and shave time off the work. If you go into heavy duty you will be expected to add on to bigger tools. I personally have sockets through 2″ and wrenches to match along with various tools specifically for working on class 8 trucks. Some tools I fabricated myself as I didn’t see what I was looking for on the market or the cost was real high for something I was able to build myself.