Menu

Buying Snap-On at a Retailer

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Tool Talk Buying Snap-On at a Retailer

• Creator
    Topic
    Scott FeitScott Feit
    Participant

Is there any way to buy Snap-On tools at a retailer? As far as I can tell, the only two options are order online or tool truck. I ask because I am fortunate enough to have an aunt who is willing to gift me a new ratchet for the holidays, but she only shops retail. (I am not really sure why.)

My other question is should I even bother? I am by no means a professional mechanic, but I have been using a cheap ratchet I got in a cheap ratchet set since I began doing automotive work about 3 years ago and I’m really starting to see the limitations. I really want something with a small swing arc, a thin, locking swivel head, and a long handle, but I’m not sure if I need the best, even if it will be a gift. What do you think?

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Kevin CriswellKevin Criswell
      Participant

I’ll probably catch hell for this, but I have started using these

http://www.harborfreight.com/3-8-eighth-inch-quick-release-swivel-head-ratchet-96782.html

I was given a complete set as a gift and have abused the heck out of them and they stand up as well as my Snap-on version does.

I also have one of these

http://www.harborfreight.com/14-and-38-drive-x-14-38-double-head-flex-ratchet-wrench-67994.html

and managed to break it 😳 , but that one I used incorrectly and was not very suprised it broke. Nice thing was all I had to do was carry it back into the store and they gave me a new one no questions asked. Comes in super handy when you don’t have room for a full sized ratchet and can’t get a gear wrench on it.

Nathan JohnstonNathan Johnston
        Participant