Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Car fell from jack, should I expect problems?

Car fell from jack, should I expect problems?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Car fell from jack, should I expect problems?

• Creator
    Topic
    Analog VGabriel
    Participant

Firstly, I wan to say that I am well aware of the problems and potential dangers of working under the car without jack stands and this is not one of those cituations. I was next to the car, at least 30cm away from it. You don’t need to go crazy about this, I know there will be people saying that it is irresponsible and I agree, but lets keep it to the topic.

So I was changing my wheels today with a winter set and kind of screwed up. It is my first time attempting to do work on my car that requires lifting it up. Since I currently do not have that much money to spend I decided to change the tires myself, but as I was trying to pull the rear driver-side wheel, the car fell from the jack on the splash shield of the rotor. I immediately lifted it up again, but this time not forgetting to chock the front wheels. I inspected the issue and the splash shield of the rotor is a bit damaged, but not really bent, the rotor never touched the ground, neither did any other part of the car. I continued working on the other wheels, no problems there and tightened them up to spec with a torque wrench. Then I did a test drive to check if everything was ok and I did hear some really tiny grinding noise coming form the back for the first 1-2km and then it stopped. My question is, should I be worried about it or not?

PS: I drive a BMW e46 from year 2000 and its splash shields are with a 1inch wider diameter than the rotors.

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      IngvarIngvar
      Participant

No chastising you? It’s cruel. :whistle: