Menu

Dreadful first years

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only Dreadful first years

• Creator
    Topic
    Justin FitzgeraldJustin Fitzgerald
    Participant

I haven’t been in the field long. Graduated trade school in June. I’ve had 4 jobs in the field and a few more interviews. My question is “How do I get better?” Everywhere I go I get stuck doing just oil changes. No one cares that I went to school. Here I am owing money for school and doing just oil changes. What’s your story? How did you get to where you are today?
      Signed “give me a wrench” lol

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      DaveDave
      Participant

Typically that is the way one starts out.
        You didn’t mention what kind of facility you work in.
        Perhaps if you seek out some place where there are dedicated full time lube techs you will have better chances at getting to do other work.
        I worked in a shop that went through a slow spell, they had a couple of apprentices that were vocal against having to do oil changes.
        They were missing the big picture that licensed techs were emptying trash, sweeping the floors, and doing oil changes.
        The slow spell lasted a few months, the apprentices ended up losing their jobs.
        I apprenticed in a small rural dealership, I had to clean the shop, paint the shop, wash and clean cars, then if needed do oil changes, if the other techs were busy I then was allowed to do small repairs. It went this way until I earned their trust and after a couple of years they hired another apprentice and it became his responsibility to clean up and do oil changes. That is the way it was. I don’t think all that much has changed.
        I understand you finished school, in some way that was your choice and nobody owes you anything for that.
        Your employer has some obligation to train you but that will happen as and when the need arises.