Menu

Engine Pinging

• Creator
    Topic
    earnedit3earnedit3
    Participant

Hi, newbie here. I’ve seen a lot of EricTheCarGuy on youtube, so joined the website just now. Anyhoo..
      1995 Ford F150, 154k, 302 V8

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 37 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      MikeMike
      Participant

are there any codes? you might want to check your knock sensor

MikeMike
        Participant

You should start by fixing the code. Insufficient EGR flow. You say you replaced the EGR valve. You should check the vacuum lines going to the valve to see if they are cracked.

MattMatt
          Participant

Quoted From Six6vetteguy:

You should start by fixing the code. Insufficient EGR flow. You say you replaced the EGR valve. You should check the vacuum lines going to the valve to see if they are cracked.

Agreed. No EGR would lead to higher than normal combustion temperatures which could cause yer pinging.

Trcustoms719Trcustoms719
            Participant

Yup, me and beefy are on the same page here.C8-)

dreamer2355dreamer2355
              Participant

It sounds like your EGR system is stuck ‘closed’.

Does that Ford have an EVR? I would be checking all my vacuum lines and looking at a wiring diagram.

Third GearThird Gear
                Participant

Sometimes you need to get into those passages with screwdriver, coat hanger or something to break loose the hard carbon.

earnedit3earnedit3
                  Participant

Hey Six6vetteguy, yes, the code is 332, egr system, and I do not have a knock sensor that I’m aware of. Thanks.

MattMatt
                    Participant