Menu

ETCG Talks ASE Testing

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge ETCG1 Video Discussions ETCG Talks ASE Testing

• Creator
    Topic
    EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
    Keymaster

As of this posting it has been a week since I took my ASE recert tests. Honestly I’m wondering if I’ll renew again in 5 years but in this video I talk about my experience.

Do you have ASE’s? Have you taken them recently?

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Robert PilsuckiRobert Pilsucki
      Participant

Eric I think you are spot on with the test taking vs experience. The same thing applies in the fire service. I am a master technician with 20 yrs experience. I had to take a hell of a test to get that title. People are eligible to sit for the exam after 5 yrs. Yeah I did well on the test and it helped my pay check but time doing the job is what helps me the most. We have a similar apprenticeship program which seems to work well for us but it takes time. At least to be good at what you do. Being a “Shade tree mechanic” myself I lack a lot of basic knowledge that would come from a formal education. That’s why I frequent “Eric the Car Guy” for things that I don’t know how to do. 😛 Thank you for what you do, you have saved me a ton of money. Keep up the good work.Stay dirty

Dave TidmanDave Tidman
        Participant

Eric, I think you hit it on the head about the test vs. experience. My wife is a RN, and collecting certifications is a big deal. She works with a RN that can pass every certification test, but that RN is not allowed anywhere near a patient. I also saw this in school, there were some folks who aced exams but couldn’t do anything in labs. I’m sure there are a very small number of people with ASE certs that you don’t want near your vehicle.

Too bad there isn’t a way to do a practical exam for a lot of professions.