Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • failed attempts in replacing my brake pads, why?

failed attempts in replacing my brake pads, why?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here failed attempts in replacing my brake pads, why?

• Creator
    Topic
    AdamAdam
    Participant

I’ve watched the Youtube videos. I thought I had the tools (I think I do). I was able to take out the old pads and put the new ones in but can’t make the new clamps slide in perfectly. It is the right pads. I couldn’t close the caliper though. I used the C-clamp but I think it was too short (3 inches). Should I have been using a bigger C-clamp since I’m just starting out? I ended up putting back the old pads again and went home disappointed and now there’s more metallic noise against the rotor. Hopefully I can still get it done today without having the need for a new rotor, just to get me by for now. Was it the C-clamp that screwed me up? I was told I can loosen the pressure of the caliper so it would go down by making a button “bleed out”. Whatever that means, sounds more complicated than the Youtube videos.

The car is a 2015 Mazda 3. I would think the caliper is also the same as in any car or is mine’s different? Because the caliper simply would not go down so I can close it in with the new pads.

Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Billy AndrewsBilly
      Participant

Sounds like you’re having a problem retracting the piston. I’m unclear on how you’ve tried to do it, or if the C-clamp was big enough to get around the caliper.
        The C-clamp must seat in the piston and behind the caliper while reaching around the caliper. This usually does require quite a large clamp. If you have two pistons per caliper, you’ll need 2 big clamps.