Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • How many of you started out changing tires ONLY?

How many of you started out changing tires ONLY?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only How many of you started out changing tires ONLY?

• Creator
    Topic
    SDMAN1981SDMAN1981
    Participant

I have some basic automotive experience like changing tires, oil, etc but I’m having a difficult time getting a basic entry level job doing that, all I see is “experience” “experience” “experience”. I am more than willing to start off at the bottom, but this rough economy just isn’t letting me.

So the question I’m asking here is this…. Did any of you current technicians/mechanics start off with just changing tires ONLY, like at Discount Tire? I’m willing to change tires for a while in a tire only shop if that’s what it takes, I mean do automotive shops see that as experience?

Sorry if this question is weird.

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      DanielDaniel
      Participant

Its crazy! Ive been trying to get into shops here in tn, and they all want like 8-10 years experience! One shop wanted me to check a car out, and replace the head gasked as a test, so i did, and beat the time by 15 mins, and he never contacted me after that!…its bs, they all want someone with experience, but noone is willing to take us entry level guys in and help us.

jasonjason
        Participant

yes some shops look at just the work record and what you have done but it sounds like you need to go to your local trade school and ask about shops that have on the job training programs and maybe someone has a opening.

FrankFrank
          Participant

I started out swapping tires, then suspension parts, then engine fixes.

Ohh wait this was at a tire shop only…

RyanRyan
            Participant

I think 90% of guys don’t start out the traditional way. It seems to be tough to get onto the field compared to 10 years ago when i started.

KeithKeith