Menu

Lying to customers

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge General Discussion Lying to customers

• Creator
    Topic
    JonathanJonathan
    Participant

Hey Eric,
      So I found this video on youtube. I was wondering what your take on what this guy says is. Have you or any of you other techs that may be reading this encountered situations like this yourself?

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      MikeMike
      Participant

Everything said in the video is accurate, although it maybe leaves a few things out. Before I was a tech, I was a service manager/writer for a used car dealership. That job was absolute hell largely due to what this guy is talking about, but there was an additional problem in being honest with customers.

What happens is that I honestly explain what is wrong and what repair is needed, in a technical way, the customer usually does not understand what they are being told. Because they don’t understand, they feel ignorant, then realize that they have no way of knowing if you’re telling them BS or not, then they become defensive/hostile, then the argument starts. This happened so many times, and I couldn’t deal with it. The concept of customers getting mad that they don’t understand repairs on their car, when they are at the shop in the first place because they aren’t qualified to deal with the car, is not something I can deal with face to face in a professional, courteous manner.