Menu

need some advise

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only need some advise

• Creator
    Topic
    gallagher83gallagher83
    Participant

I’m about half way done with my automotive schooling and was wondering about diesel I know my credits won’t transfer over so after I’m done with auto is it worth taking diesel on to of that or just sticking with auto?

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      MikeMike
      Participant

Well that depends more on you and what you want to be working on. Successful diesel techs make more money than auto techs like me. I’m sure I could/would like to be a successful diesel tech but I hate working on domestic vehicles and trucks, plain and simple. If diesels came in cars the way they do in Europe, I’d be all over it.

James O'HaraJames O’Hara
        Participant

I am a big rig tech. I went to school for both. I can tell you that being a diesel tech in a car dealership can make you a rare commodity though it is no guarantee. As a big rig tech our job is a lot more physically demanding and a little less technically demanding but, only slightly. Big rigs have a lot of standards that you do not have in the auto industry.

Things like controllers and the names for devices are all standardized for the electronic and sensor side. When they first come out the names will be whatever but, after 5 yrs it normally gets a standard name. We have electronic control units same as cars the difference is its mandated so a transmission controller controls the transmission. We also use a single serial bus for the main controllers and a secondary for secondary controllers aka less wires and communication between all devices is possible.