Menu

Oil Leak From Timing Sprockets

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here Oil Leak From Timing Sprockets

• Creator
    Topic
    StevenSteven
    Participant

Hey everyone! Newbie here to the ETCG site. Just a quickie. I’m currently working on a buddy’s ’02 Kia Spectra, 1.8L DOHC, 5-speed manual. This car had a timing belt snap n so I had to replace it. Little bit of valve and valve seat damage, so he replaced the head, and I replaced the timing belt(also had to manually reset the timing since my buddy installed the sprockets 180 degrees off and the intake cam ready for cylinder two and the exhaust cam ready for cylinder four!) :stick: . After putting everything back together, we started her up. We noticed a HUGE oil leak coming from the timing cover area on the passenger side of the engine bay. Took the top timing cover off and started her up again. We found the oil was running out from behind the intake/exhaust cam sprockets. Is this leak unusual? What the heck could cause this type of leak? I know the timing area is supposed to be free of oil (well it ain’t anymore). Any ideas would be appreciated, thank you! 😆

P.S I almost forgot to mention that this leak is up high and the valve cover seats directly over these cam sprockets (obviously).

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Participant

cam seal?

EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
        Keymaster

Any way you could post a pic for us?

Lorrin BarthLorrin Barth
          Participant

I’ve run into engines where bolts that hold on the belt pulleys or motor mount come out oily on the end so I know they go into an oil gallery. If you put the fastener back without thread sealant you’ll get a leak but not a big leak. Anyway, all the usual leaks that occur in this area are small and annoying. A huge leak means either the head isn’t flat and the head gasket is leaking like a sieve or a seal is missing.

StevenSteven
            Participant