Menu

people who don’t want to pay?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only people who don’t want to pay?

• Creator
    Topic
    jeep72jeep72
    Participant

I hate it when you try to help people repair there vehicles but they don’t want to pay you what the job is worth.WTF if they took it to the shop or dealership they would be paying way more than I charge.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      davedave
      Participant

get money up front, or keep their keys until they decide they would like to fork over some cash.

and then you can tell them that you cannot work on their vehicle in the future.

SteveSteve
        Participant

When family or good friends help me, I always offer to pay them and try to get them to accept something for their help. Most times they will not accept which works out ok in the end since I will help them when they need it. On the other hand, I’m not a mechanic but when I help out someone (other than immediate family) an offer of payment would be nice. I wouldn’t accept it from family or close friends but it’s the offer that counts. Now a neighbor whom I barely know is different. If he doesn’t offer, I wouldn’t ask for it but the next time he needs help, I would be way too busy to help him.

davedave
          Participant

if it’s family, I ask for payment in terms of beer.

if it’s friends, I ask for payment in terms of beer.

if it’s a customer, I ask for payment in terms of beer money.

drthrift035drthrift035
            Participant

Great post. Collecting money up front is best. Sometimes what I do is collect the money for the Parts then at the end of the job i collect the rest for my work. At least you don’t lose on the parts. It’s all about calculated risks. If the person acts up. He’s like what my friend calls them ” 1 way ticket ” . You never deal with them again.

Generally, people are fair in my business experience. However, you have to watch for these slime Balls.

davedave