Menu

Seniority vs Experience

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only Seniority vs Experience

• Creator
    Topic
    Rene PerezRene Perez
    Participant

Hey fellow technicians!

So I ran into this situation today that I feel will conflict with my work schedule. Not that it is a problem but I just feel it is sort of unfair. Here is the story. So I recently started working for an Infiniti dealership. I only have 1 month in since I got hired technically speaking. I came out of express service from Nissan and this Infiniti dealership has way more experienced techs. I was given the job due to someone else leaving so I was given the opportunity to work there. I have no experience doing other type of work except oil changes and what not, pretty much lube tech stuff. Within this 1 month there I learned to do alignments, brakes, programming keys, changing out starters, door panels, radios, belts and stuff like that. To be specific I am located in New York. For those of you that do not know, we have safety inspections to do every where as techs. Also emissions testing are done here as well. In order to conduct these state of New York inspections yearly, you need to have a license to conduct the inspections. Now this is where my scenerio comes in. I was able to prove to my boss that I am capable of doing the job and really bust my balls working on these cars and getting them out as fast as I can. I get acknowledged for my hard work all the time by my boss.