Menu

Should I take this shop job?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge General Discussion Should I take this shop job?

• Creator
    Topic
    IanIan
    Participant

Heya guys…trying to make the right decision in my current situation here and was hoping i could get some input. I’m half way through college to get my bachelor’s in biochemistry. science is my go-to and ultimately what I plan on having a career in. I just finished up the fall semester passing everything, but i had to pay it out of pocket this go around and need to pay back the 5k i owe before I can continue to take classes. My plan was to work full time hours all spring and summer to pay off this debt and go back to school in the fall.

Despite biochemistry being my true calling, I really like working on cars. I’ve accumulated a lot of tools and self-taught experience as well as knowledge from forums like this. I decided this go around I really wanted to get a job dealing in some way with auto mechanics, not because I want to start a long term career in the field and get ASE certified or anything, but just because I want to have a little chunk of my life experience to have been applying my mechanic skills to make money professionally…

So after my hunt i’ve got 2 options…

I filled out an application and set up an interview for thursday at the advance auto parts near me. they see me in there a lot and can tell I know my stuff and really want me there. I would be making $9.20 an hour but they would keep me part time so i’d need to get another job ontop of it… also the job would be kindof boring and be mainly desk work so i really wouldn’t get to turn wrenches like i love…but it would be easy and i would definitely excel there…