Menu

The Technician Career Choice.

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only The Technician Career Choice.

• Creator
    Topic
    Corey
    Participant

I just turned 21 a few months ago. I am in college for automotive, and I’ve got one more year to go before I graduate.
      As of right now, I’m part of a Chrysler program, and work at a Mopar dealership.
      After I graduate, my local BMW dealership promised me a spot in their STEP program if I come to them with a degree and promising results (which is no problem).

I did not know how to jack up a car…and I didn’t even know what a ratchet was until I was almost 19. It’s insane to see how far I’ve come.

However…lately…I’ve been burnt out.

I am in auto trans class right now…and there is SO much to learn. It got me thinking…
      Why do I want to be a tech? (Thoughts are explained later.)
      When I first started going to college and told myself that this is what I want to do for a living, I was beyond motivated. I was the top dog in all of my automotive classes.
      Once auto trans class rolled around, I’ve kind of lost motivation…

I like working on cars. I like modifying. I like doing big jobs and then having it run perfectly after. I like being able to say that “I” modified my car and didn’t pay someone else to do it.

However…I feel like the profession is a bit of a joke.
      Yes, it’s hard. It’s damn hard. But, I feel like techs don’t have to be as good as they used to be. Instead of using a DMM to diagnose a charging system, you just put a machine on it and it tells you what’s wrong. Seems like that’s how it is for everything. I feel like we’re just pawns of the engineers…which makes me feel degraded and less respectable.

A car comes in the shop.
      Put the scan tool on it, go online, and see if there is a post about it so we can fix it.