Menu

timing shim causes bad valves?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here timing shim causes bad valves?

• Creator
    Topic
    maniogremaniogre
    Participant

My wifes 08 MDX I took in because of some engine noise. TSB was done regarding a shim on the timing belt and replaced tensioner. The noise came back in two weeks and I took it back to dealer. They said they had to pull the head and sent to machine shop who diagnosed one bad valve on each cylinder! WOW, is this even possible? Are they milking Honda? I am no mechanic and am a pessimistic cynic. I think they are F@#$*ing with me.

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      MattMatt
      Participant

A shim on the timing belt? That’s a new one. Right up there with headlight fluid. But if it’s under warranty, I would let them deal with it.

EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
        Keymaster

It’s not common for Honda engines to have issue like that and to be honest without seeing the vehicle for myself it’s impossible to tell what’s going on unfortunately.

pcmdjasonpcmdjason
          Participant

Tsb 08-031 says to shim the idler pulley. And on some also change the water pump.

dreamer2355dreamer2355
            Participant

Thanks for posting the TSB pcmdjason C8-)

MattMatt
              Participant

I made light of the original post, because I had never heard of timing idler shims. But I learned something. That’s why I love this place. Thank you Jason.

beaker60beaker60
                Participant

Just curious,,,where did everyone get the info on the TSB,,,I need to get that info,,to the 2 shops I do diagnosis for.Thanks

EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
                  Keymaster