Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Tips For Getting Along and Building a Solid Work Relationship With Your Boss

Tips For Getting Along and Building a Solid Work Relationship With Your Boss

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only Tips For Getting Along and Building a Solid Work Relationship With Your Boss

• Creator
    Topic
    Shaun KissShaun Kiss
    Participant

Hey guys, currently I am a 2nd Year Apprentice (from Canada) and I’m onto my second job now in the trade and this time I made a bit of a break through, I’m now on the Mechanical side of the shop. I am doing Steering and Suspension, Brakes, Wheel Alignments, and lower level Diagnostic work. All stuff I dreamed of doing in the trade and now I felt like I made it but now I have to hold the job. My boss is a great guy he’s giving me a chance and we both agree that I need to start getting into more difficult stuff, my problem is since I’m so Green in the trade I have a tendency to take too long doing some of these jobs and it scares me when I think about it, also I need to build more confidence when calling parts or wondering if I cleaned something such as a wheel hub correctly when doing a brake job. I’m getting more confident as I go along but its not coming quick enough. I don’t have all my tools at work yet I have been at this job for a week and a half now, I’m waiting for my new tool cart wheels to come in but I’m starting to lose my patients, my boss has been kind enough to let me use his tools (I know, that sounds really spoiled) but I don’t like using anyone else’s tools but my own its just the way I like to have it. They provide me with a small 2 shelve cart so I’m going to bring the majority of my tools tomorrow and put them on that so fuck it, I will be so much faster with my own tools I know it.