Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • Todays cars are just not as good as the old ones

Todays cars are just not as good as the old ones

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Technicians Only Todays cars are just not as good as the old ones

• Creator
    Topic
    stingray66stingray66
    Participant

I have been a mechanic for a long time started back in 62 and have seen a lot of things change some good BUT mostly BAD
      Stopped by a friends shop the other day. He had a 2010 Mazda sedan with a V6 with blown head gaskets
      with 24,000 miles and the factory said it was NOT under warranty Well I found out that the engine was a Ford 3,0 V6
      I am retired so I am Not in to it as much as I once was so I did not know that Mazda came with fords engines
      Now I will say there is NO way to get the heads off with the engine in the car ALso there is NO way to replace the water pump with out removing the engine Ended up removing the whole engine trans cradle and lifting the car up on the lift
      Found the heads are warped because of a water pump failure
      I just hate to think of some poor tech on flat rate doing this job He would get totally F%^^% on this job I am told this is the same engine thats in the ford edge My point is if you would have told me that you have to remove an engine just to replace a water pump I would have thought you were NUTs And to the engineer that designed that engine he should be FRIED
      http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v511/stingray66/IMG_0731_zpsdba5d63c.jpg?t=1358284133
      http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v511/stingray66/IMG_0730_zpsfa852d35.jpg?t=1358284211

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      fordrangerfordranger
      Participant