Menu

Tools you made

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Tool Talk Tools you made

• Creator
    Topic
    gatiszvejnieksgatiszvejnieks
    Participant

Hi as a hobby mechanic I try to save money on some tools (not handtools),

I have made something similar to Power probe, dont have a photo for it, but here is the schematic and parts I used:

How it works;
      Hook to the car battery using aligator clips (the wire is long enought to reach any place on the car);
      Switch 1 position 1 – Looking for power (if the light is on you have 12V)
      Switch 1 position 2 – looking for ground (if the light is on you have ground)

Switch 2 Position 1 – Provide power
      Switch 2 Position 2 – Provide Ground
      There is a 9A circut braker after switch 2, if you short out, the circut braker will break the circut – once it cools down you can use it agien, no need to change fuses. For more information about this circut braker google RUEF900

Spent about 15$ for the materials.

Both switches and circut braker are taped togather and about 50 centimeters away from testlight. Switches are in different collors so I know which is for testing and which for providing power and ground.

Be careful by providing power or ground, there is a 9A protection, but often times 9A can be enought to damage some electrical components if provided to the wrong place.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      dreamer2355dreamer2355
      Participant

Wow! Thats awesome!

Gen3Gen3
        Participant