Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • What do you guys think of Grey Pneumatic tools?

What do you guys think of Grey Pneumatic tools?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Tool Talk What do you guys think of Grey Pneumatic tools?

• Creator
    Topic
    JesseJesse
    Participant

These tools have peaked my interest. As an entry level tech I do not have the money to spring for Snap-On or Mac. I used some GP tools the other day, and they felt much better than Craftsman, Husky, etc tools.

What is your experience with these tools, and how do they hold up?

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      James O'HaraJames O’Hara
      Participant

Pros:

Well worth the money as a starting tech to get you to where you need to be. Their sockets are extremely hard to break I would say more so then Snap-On. They also have stuff that Snap-On does not have and since a large majority of the sockets tend to be straight impact style things like triple squares are nearly indestructible.

Cons:

If a socket wears out you cannot get it warrantied out. Depending on the Tool truck guy this might not be the case for their brand. If you put the wobble sockets on a larger size impact then what it is designed for they break. Wobble sockets also are the collar type so they cannot be used in as tight of a place as most Snap-On wobble sockets.

I have heard bad things about the duo-sockets from diesel mechanics but, auto mechanics say they seem to work fine. Us diesel mechanics tend to use heavier impacts more often so this might account for that. I personally though do not know this as fact merely heard it through the grape vine.

If you can get a hold of their wobble impact extsnsions buy all 3 sets they are well worth it just do not use a hand ratchet with them and do not use a larger size impact than what was designed for them. Otherwise they are fantastic. Only down side is they are discontinued. It puts snap-ons wobble extensions to shame.

JBJB
        Participant