Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • What does this engine noise sound like to you?

What does this engine noise sound like to you?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here What does this engine noise sound like to you?

• Creator
    Topic
    curtie94curtie94
    Participant

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZFcPoue2hQ

The car is a 1991 Honda Accord with 170,000 miles. I have had my auto teacher listen to it and he said it sounds like valvetrain. I was thinking either exhaust manifold, sticky valves, or fuel injectors. The video makes it sound deeper then it does when you there. What do you think it is?

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      FaderFader
      Participant

I am no professional but personally I’m thinking the same as you are: Exhaust Manifold. …… Umm I say this because My 02 Honda civic sounded the same a few weeks back. (Definite ticking there as well) Might be more to your problem.

In my case it was a crack in the manifold and the bottom flange past the Cat was missing…. totally rotted off. Just finished up welding it this past weekend and both the deep sound “exhaust leak sound” and the tick had vanished. Very similar sound… actually almost identical to your’s.

I would start with the exhaust manifold. Take the heat shield off and thoroughly inspect for any cracks… hair line ones. Look for black soot in areas you may not be able to see a crack…. Check that out very well before jumping to a valvetrain.

Hope this helped.

🙂 I’m sure Eric will be of better help!

FaderFader
        Participant

Do you have a CEL on?

curtie94curtie94
          Participant

K thanks I know that I have cracks at the manifold. About a year ago I had the heat shield off and I had hairline cracks now I bet they are huge. When the car is cold the cracks must be wider then when it is hot. Causing it to be quiter when warm. Thanks.