Menu

What to do….what not to do?

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge ETCG Suggestion Box What to do….what not to do?

• Creator
    Topic
    LukeLuke
    Participant

Hi,

I am not sure if this has been covered before but I thought I would ask.

The question I ask is as a DIY’er, what maintenance on my car should I do and what should be left to the professional? The reason I ask is after watching your Brake Repair Video, I was more than happy to have a go at replacing my pad’s and rotors on my car and my wife’s car. However after talking to the wife about this, she said that while she does think that I am more than capable, she would like this left to a profession who has credentials. I am not mechanically trained (I have a degree in Applied Science of all things!!) but I have done a number of mechanical stuff in my job (I work in a power station) and at home. I would like anyone option on this!! If it has been covered before, could you let me know.

Cheers 🙂

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      EricTheCarGuy 1EricTheCarGuy
      Keymaster

Thank you for your suggestion. Thing is, it’s subjective. In my videos I like to encourage those that are willing to try auto repair to do just that. I don’t like to focus on limitations unless there are serious concerns. For the most part, I feel a person working carefully and methodically can do many things when it comes to auto repair. So to your point, it kinda goes against what I try to do with my channel. I like to think of myself as an enabler. In fact, that’s what ‘stay dirty’ is all about. That said, I get your point. Perhaps something like that might work on an ETCG1 video at some point as I get a lot of flack for videos that aren’t repair related that get posted to my ETCG channel. In fact, I have this video that I posted to ETCG1 some time ago.

Thanks again for the suggestion.

LukeLuke
        Participant