Menu

Working from a wheel chair..

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge New Member Introduction Working from a wheel chair..

• Creator
    Topic
    Herman Tyler Jr.Herman Tyler Jr.
    Participant

I’ve been working on (ICE) of all kinds for 30+ years, and automotive refinishing, painting, FYI my last complete restoration was 23 years ago on a 1969 Chevy Camaro. I finished it off with an acrylic lacquer custom brandy wine color. I haven’t been able to spray again, weld, straighten body parts, or turn a wrench (get real dirty) because I can’t move my fingers. But I can sit in my chair and instruct anyone that’s motivated, with some skills and without. My passion is electrical systems trouble shooting. I will rebuild an engine from time to time, steering, suspension, brakes. When I became paralyzed 20 years ago, I wanted to stop my involvement with cars. People that knew me kept asking for my assistance, because they knew that I could guide them through a repair job, quickly and efficiently if they did the work or hired a set of hands for me. My bucket list includes building a transporter that requires less moving parts, and a unique form of propulsion. In Eric words (stay dirty)

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      davedave
      Participant

I was working on my aunt’s roof last summer and had what many would refer to as a “life altering experience.” It was 2 days of back braking work. On the second day, we were almost done.. I was helping line up rows of shingles and I happened to take one step backwards too many… ended up doing a back flip off the roof and shattered my right leg. Although I am very thankful that one leg took 100% of the falling force (which to me is the best case scenario) I sometimes wonder would would have happened if my back or neck had taken the hit.