Menu

1993 Honda Civic D15B Idling Issues

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here 1993 Honda Civic D15B Idling Issues

• Creator
    Topic
    EvolutionjuanEvolutionjuan
    Participant

Hey my name is Juan and I have been coming to your videos for help on my 1993 Honda Civic. Recently I have been having some issues with idling. I have checked for air in the cooling system and even cleaned the Idle Air Control Valve that is located directly under my throttle body. I also cleaned the throttle body with carb cleaner and screwed down the mechanism that lets the air in, all the way down but loosened it a bit and installed it back but my idle now seems to sit at 1000rpm-1200rpm. So when my idle jumps it goes from 1000rpm-1500rpm. Also when I give the car gas the rpm’s raise then drop below 1000rpm to almost sounding like the car will shut off like its choking or something. I just noticed that my muffler needs to be replaced for the reason that the pipping that connects to the muffler it self has cracks and can now move in and out of the muffler inlet. Would that cause my idle issues? I have not taken off the Fast Idle Air Control Valve that sits on the intake manifolds front towards the firewall. This is the valve that has the screen in it and only has two bolts that hold it in place. Should I take that off and clean that? What should I check and or do first? Thank You for your time and hope to hear back from you soon.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      Participant

@College man: thanks for the vids will try and do that.

MikeMike
        Participant

You dont need to remove fuse…just disconnect battery….wait 30 minutes…then reconnect battery and let idle for 10 minutes…then i would drive it around for about 15 minutes or so

MattMatt
          Participant

Eric’s Honda idle speech:

http://www.ericthecarguy.com/search.asp … h&ff=false

Have fun! Good luck.

college mancollege man